top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSibyl Sunitha

What is your secret muse?


How many of us wake up to the 5 o'clock morning alarm without slugging back to sleep? Well if you answer yes then I definitely need to know the secret behind that. For those who are unsure to answer that question, maybe you might be just like me who is trying to get some self motivation.


Growing up, I never really understood the concept of self motivation beyond studying for the exams or even going to college for a better career. The idea of self motivation did hit me strong when I took my ‘Arrangetram’ (Solo Debut) seriously. Those were the crucial years where I was put into a vigorous practice to showcase my best performance on the stage. As much as I enjoyed the process, I also learnt a lot about myself. It is true to say that

When you put your heart into something your mind will follow

Self motivation is what your calling is. It is what makes you get up every morning. As an artist, I had the opportunity to build a connection with my mind and body. The beginnings are always a tough call, there will be a lot of resilience then comes the acceptance and finally I was able to achieve a sync. Once we find this connection is when we are able to explore our capabilities. This part of discovery is essential only if self motivation shadows us.

But there are days where you feel like doing nothing, that is completely fine for the body and mind to rest. Create an environment that will make you cheer up. It can be simple things like cleaning up the space to do your work out, or just play music so your body can flow into the space. Create an inspiration to tinkle the self motivation within yourself. As the saying goes rightly that


"Only you have control over yourself”

Making a practice your habit is the first step to take. For me practicing dance was a habit that I trained my mind to survive through the day. Setting priorities and sticking to what is best for you can go a long way. It can be as simple as concentrating on your breath for 5 minutes. Small daily victories, performed with disciplined consistency over an extended period of time, lead to revolutionary results.

Everyone has a secret muse out there to explore and once you find it make it your best friend!


Writer's Note

I came across the concept of finding your own muse when I read a book called the 'Writing Spirit' written by Lynn Andrews. The book resonated with me, my dance and my writing. As I was reading through the chapters it helped me discover new ideas and it took me to a happy space. It is definitely a good read and I must recommend if you are some one seeking for an inspiration in life.




64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page