top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSibyl Sunitha

Juggling for the Balance in life


Before I begin, I have a little confession to make, I can be the most likely person to topple when it comes to Dance-Work-Life balance. As much as I have a great balance in holding a posture, I am the weakest when it comes to a good life balance. Well that is why life gives you tons of experiences to pick yourself up right? 


It all starts from the first baby step to your so called big struggles between academics and ‘extra curricular’ activities. Most of us believe that this is where all the problem starts but believe me! It is just getting started. As we mature, our problems and struggles also mature along with us.


Luckily back in my school days, I was not put into millions of activities to do after school. All I remembered was to either be good in studies or practice my hobby during my spare time. When I got serious into pursuing my career is when things got shaky. I was caught up in this daunting loop of work, dance and life. Never knew what I was going to do even though there was a solid income. Obviously my passion was yearning to be let out. When I was in my early 20s there was a sudden gush of commitments, responsibilities and emotions that came across, some people may come out successful but for me it was hard time to set the priorities right.

“Even though I took time figuring out who or what I wanted to become. I really enjoyed the transformation that I took”. - note to self

You might topple or even fall down during your juggle to find the balance, but all you need to remember is to get up every time and to keep pushing yourself to become the better of you. Understanding and figuring out what is right and wrong might take you a while but that is all fine. Figure out what makes you the happiest and gives you the utmost satisfaction.


I was quite blessed to have a supporting partner, family and friends by my side but it did haunt me to find the perfect balance that I needed in life with dance or work. Finally, I went for it and put all my heart into dancing. Oh boy! I can vouch that it was not a smooth path to take. I really appreciate artists who believe in having a “dual career” and still persue their passion for the dance form. But being an artist by profession has its own perks too, right?

“that whether you are studying or working or just a housewife cleaning and cooking, it doesn’t matter — dance always compliments whatever you do”. Gayatri Joshi, an Odissi dancer, and instructor

As rightly said by Gayatri Joshi, dance must always compliment your life. It can be spending quality time with your family/ loved ones or to keep up to a healthy lifestyle. Just go with the flow, set your priorities right, choose what your gut says. I am sure we as artists can find a balance in what we do!



22 views0 comments
bottom of page