top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSibyl Sunitha

Habits that never fail us…

Updated: Jan 27, 2023

‘Habits’ what I call them ‘Boring things in life’ might not be the best thing I am good at, but it is what keeps me going. I never understood the importance of creating a routine out of something until I fell myself to the adulthood. Dancing was the constant and my routine!

As children it is our parents who develop a habit within us. Right from the time we sleep to the time we eat our first meal of the day. Gradually, as we grow up, we slowly start showing interest towards things that we like the most. But some of the habits will still be pushed upon, for which we can not deny. Trust me, it is all for Good! These fragments of habits that get instilled in us is what creates our identity, our self.


Dancing to me was of course pushed by my mother who herself liked to be a dancer. For a few years into learning, it was definitely a struggle. Attending dance classes right after school, the exhausting travel to reach the place and finally to the lonely wait in class for my Guru to arrive. All of it seemed like a gruelling habit which was a ‘no choice’ for me to let go. Although something kept pushing me, it was a voice, it was my Mother’s voice of course. To my surprise, my interest towards dance slowly started to develop, probably it is also because I changed my Guru then. What I started off as an unconscious pattern of action has got me to pursue it with enjoyment.

The reason I called practicing dance as a habit and not a hobby is because, it was definitely not my first joyful moment the minute I stamped foot for the first Tattadavu. My fondness towards dance slowly creeped upon me.

“Habits are the invisible architecture of daily life. We repeat about 40 percent of our behavior almost daily, so our habits shape our existence, and our future. If we change our habits, we change our lives.” Gretchen Rubin

I am a person who like to not have my routine set and always wants a change. Unknowingly, dancing had made me realise that I need a routine and I need that habit to sustain my existence.

You might find it hard to get up and dance to adavus every single day. Making that a habit is the toughest task for a dancer. The only way to win is to do it religiously. Do it when you feel the happiest the most.There might come days, where your body will need the urge to practice dance and that is when your subconscious act has taken a fruitful step to put your heart on the right track.

36 views0 comments
bottom of page